Welcome to

the Department of Business Development and Technology (BTECH)

The department's focus is on research and educational excellence and offers four undergraduate and two graduate study programmes as well as a number of part-time studies all within business engineering, business economics and management. Furthermore, Aarhus School of Engineering offers the Electronic Engineer degree programme and the pre-admission course for engineering programmes at AU Campus Herning. 

The study programmes offered by BTECH are based on interaction across professional boundaries as well as close interaction with students and the surrounding business community. All study programmes have an innovative and international perspective.

The department was originally founded in 1995 as a result of a merger between the Engineering College of Western Jutland and the Central Jutland Business School. The merger with Aarhus University in 2006 resulted in an even higher academic level and an increased focus on research and development.

BTECH has approximately 1,650 students (about 1,150 are full-time students and 500 part-time students). Approximately 15% of the full-time students come from other countries than Denmark. The department has around 70 full-time employees and employs 25 part-time teachers.

The Department of Business Development and Technology (BTECH) is part of Aarhus BSS, one of the four faculties at Aarhus University. Aarhus BSS holds the distinguished accreditations AACSB, AMBA and EQUIS for its business-related activities.  

BTECH has an annual budget close to DKK 85 mio. and approx. DKK 8 mio. in external funding. Unique in the Danish university system, BTECH receives funding from six surrounding municipalities supporting entrepreneurial studies and business mentor programmes of its students.